×

联系我们

  • 联系我们
  • 客服专线: +86 020 2838 3668

电子信箱认证:电子报营销指南

电子报营销中,认证的问题逐渐变得比收件箱中堆积如山的垃圾邮件更严重。为什么?因为垃圾邮件本身很明确─大多时间你可以直接看出它是垃圾信─电子信箱认证却邪恶多了,因为它会让垃圾邮件业者假冒完全合法、符合规范的电子邮件营销业者的身分,进而一手毁掉他们的 ESP 信誉。

举一个实例。你有没有收到过寄件人字段写着你的公司名称,内文却在推销威而钢、假劳力士表或类似东西的电子邮件?这就是垃圾邮件业者顶替你的身分、伪造你的信息并使用你的优秀 ESP 信誉来寄垃圾信的实例。而垃圾投诉却会影响你的 ESP 信誉,而非盗用的垃圾信业者。

现在,要对抗这种假冒寄件人的盗用手法只有一种方式:认证。

认证:不同类型

电子信箱认证是个认证发件人真实身分以及他们的电子邮件或电子报来源的步骤。这表示即使你是个自称完全合法的公司,当你发出来自 Pango Pango 的电子邮件新娘广告信时,电子邮件服务供货商(ESP)就可以检视各种数据,并将其和他们已经登录在案的数据做比对,然后马上封锁你的电子邮件不让他们进到收件箱。

你可能会怀疑认证信的必要性。但记得,ESP 业者每天需要处理上百万封邮件。这代表他们没时间去细看每一封电子邮件,检查页首和寄件人字段是否正确,再一一过滤错误的邮件。所以,认证是每个重视ESP信誉的电子邮件营销业者都必须做的事。

目前有三种可行的认证方式:SPF、DKIM,和发件人 ID。

SPF 纪录

SPF,或寄件人策略框架,堪称电子邮件认证的黄金标竿。他们提供 ESP 业者一个所有来自你的电子邮件的数据框架。

当你的电子邮件到达 ESP 方时,ESP 会将电子邮件中的信息和你做比对。这信息可能包括 DNS,发送信件时使用的字段种类,以及其他数据。

如果数据不符合,且你的电子邮件是来自某个未知或和之前提供的信息不符的发送方,ESP 就会挡下这些电子邮件,你也将免于垃圾邮件投诉。

DKIM

DKIM,又称为网域密钥通讯协议,是 ESP 用来确认比对你提供的 DNS 纪录和电子邮件中是否相同的方法。如果 DNS 纪录不符合,ESP 就会封锁电子邮件,你也不会被投诉为垃圾邮件。

发件人 ID

发件人 ID 基本上就跟 SPF 一样,其中只有些微不同之处。就结果而言,他们做的事是一样的:藉由比对 ESP 持有的纪录和邮件中的纪录,认证所有你发送的电子邮件或电子报。

认证的争议

ESP 业者每天周而复始面对的核心议题就是如何处置每一封电子邮件。举例而言,以 Gmail 和 Yahoo! 来说,他们对无法通过认证测试的电子邮件的处理方式可能相同。Gmail 和 Yahoo! 可能直接就把这些电子邮件封锁,这也是处理伪造页首、寄件人,或任何钓鱼邮件的最快也最简单的方法。

但在同样的情况下,MSN Mail 和 AOL 的处理方式可能完全不同。他们可能会把电子邮件和一个写着无法辨识此封邮件的讯息放在一起,或是走完全不同的流程。

最大的未知在于,上千个免费或付费的电子邮件服务中,有些可能根本没有使用认证系统。在这样的情况下,你可能会发现假冒你的名字,推销诡异草药或乐透头奖的邮件,会一路进到收件者的收件箱,一路上没有经过任何认证或阻碍。

好消息是,大型 ESP 业者都将认证当成标准做法。而且既然他们是大部分电子邮件用户会用的大型 ESP,认证就是个预防垃圾邮件投诉及保护网络名声的最好机会。而且你也可以持认证纪录向其他较小的 ESP 业者证明你并非垃圾邮件业者,你收到的垃圾投诉可能是误判。

不是可能,而是何时

不幸的是,虽然我们对钓鱼信的一般印象就是一夕赚钱或乐透头奖,但钓鱼信也随着时间越来越聪明。现在并不难见到比以前的钓鱼信更聪明也更有创意的钓鱼信件,这也代表任何想长远经营的电子报营销业者都必须先做过认证的步骤。

最新一代的钓鱼信件可以把页首和字段都弄得和公司本来设定的一模一样。所以,如果你经营一家小型银行,你的电子信箱身分被假冒,并发送出看似完全合法的帐户资料细节确认信以骗取钱财,是完全有可能发生的事件。

很快的,看起来很假又垃圾的钓鱼邮件就会完全消失。我们不会在收到有着伪造页首或来自服装店的假银行认证信,更可能发生的是上述情况,我们会收到一封来自真正银行的银行账户确认信。

有鉴于此,还有很多将来未知的垃圾邮件业者会发明的新花招,我们建议你执行至少一种(最好两种)上述的认证方法。如果你希望你的电子邮件营销信誉在强敌环伺下还能全身而退,尤其如果你的名单人数不少的话,那我只有一个建议:认证,现在就做。

相关文章


Back

Email Authentication: An Email Marketing Guide

In email marketing, authentication is becoming an even larger issue than the mountains of spam that make it to the inbox. Why? Because while spam itself is pretty straightforward – a sometimes obviously unwanted message that shows up in the inbox – email spoofing is more nefarious because it lets spammers take over the email identities of perfectly legitimate, rule-abiding email marketers and ruins their reputations.

Case in point. Have you ever seen emails sent to you, with your own company's name in the sent from field, pushing Viagra, fake Rolex watches or anything else of that sort? That's an example of a spammer who took over your identity, forged your information and is now using your perfectly good reputation to send out junk to angry recipients. And the spam complaint will affect your good name, not the fraudster who used it.

At the moment, there's really only one way to combat the forging of where an email comes from and who sent it: authentication.

Authentication: Different Types

Email authentication is a process that verifies the true identity of each sender and the origin of their emails or newsletters. This means that even if your totally legitimate paper company purportedly sent out an ad featuring mail-order brides from Pango Pango, the email service provider can look at various sets of data, compare it against the data they already have on file for you and immediately block your email from making it to the inbox.

You might ask why authentication is even necessary, but remember that email service providers process millions of emails per day. This means that there isn't time to pore over every single email, check to see if the headers and sent field are accurate, and shuffle it off to the inbox. Hence, authentication is a must for any email marketer serious about preserving their reputation.

There are three types of authentication available at the moment: SPF, DKIM and Sender ID.

SPF Records

SPF, or Sender Policy Framework, works as the sort of gold standard of email authentication. They provide the email service provider with a framework of data for every email you send.

When your email gets to the email service provider, the ESP checks your info against the info in the email. This info might include the DNS, what types of fields your emails use when you send, and other data.

If this data does not match up and your email is sent from an unknown or different origin that doesn't match the info you provided, the ESP blocks the email from making it to the inbox, removing the chance of spam complaints.

DKIM

DKIM, also known as Domain Keys Identified Mail, is the ESP's way of checking the DNS records you provide with the ones that come with the email. If the DNS records fail to match, the ESP will block that email and you won't have to suffer from spam complaints.

Sender ID

Sender ID is almost identical to SPF, with a few key differences. Ultimately, they're both out to do the same thing: authenticate every email you send by matching data records the ESP holds against the ones that accompany the email or newsletter waiting to make it to the inbox.

The Controversy Surrounding Authentication

The core issue facing ESPs today starts and ends at how each email is handled. For instance, with Gmail and Yahoo!, both might handle emails that fail to pass the authentication sniff test in the same way. The powers that be at Gmail and Yahoo! may simply choose to block the email altogether, which is an easy and quick way to handle any forged headers, sent fields and other fraudulent data.

Meanwhile MSN Mail and AOL might handle the situation in an entirely different way. They might choose to put a message with the email that says the sender cannot be identified or go an entirely different route altogether.

The big unknown is the thousands of free and paid email services, some of which may not use authentication at all. In that case, you may find that the email sent unwittingly in your name, pushing herbal products or lotto winnings, might make it all the way to the inbox, with no interruption or verification whatsoever.

The good news is the major ESPs use authentication as a standard practice. And since they are major ESPs used by the vast majority of all email users, there's a great chance authentication will save you from spam complaints and preserve your online reputation. And there's a good chance that with the smaller email service providers, you can show your authentication records as a way of proving that you're not a spammer and that your spam complaints were much undeserved.

Not if, but When

Unfortunately, as much as we see the standard phishing outfit asking for money or touting lottery winnings, phishers are getting more and more sophisticated as the days go by. It's not entirely uncommon to encounter a phishing outfit far more educated and creative than its predecessors, which makes authentication a must for any email marketer looking at the long-term picture.

The new generation of phishing outfit matches the headers or fields from the type of company it wants to appear to send from. Hence, if you run a small bank, it's entirely possible that your email's identity will be taken over to send a highly legitimate-looking form asking for detailed account data, fooling many recipients in the process.

There will be a day very soon when the obviousness of phishing and spam disappears. We'll no longer see the bank verification email sent from the forged headers of a clothing shop, but more likely, as mentioned above, more bank verification emails sent from actual banks.

For this reason and the unknowns of whatever else spammers come up with to tilt the system in their favor, we recommend that you implement at least one, if not two authentication methods. If you want to keep your email marketing reputation pristine in the face of so many growing threats, authentication, simply stated, is a must, especially if you have a medium to large list.

Related Articles


Back