Skip to content

邮件营销术语

50 多个需知术语,协助您掌握邮件营销

头版画面

不用拖动就可以到的网页或电子邮件部分。因为可见度高,通常是最佳的位置。

许可的另外一种表述。表示收件人明确知道您收集到并使用他的信箱,且已经征得您的同意。确认许可不仅是邮件营销的最佳做法,也是所有信誉良好的电子邮件营销服务的要求的。

API (应用程序编程接口)

API 又叫 Application Programming Interface,API 是一种编程工具,让不同的软件程序能够相互通信或在同一个操作系统协作。具体的例如如 Java 和 Microsoft DirectX,透过大量的 API 在 PC 上进行游戏和视频编程。

自动化回复

寄送讯息出去后收到自动发送回复的程序或指令码。自动回复的常见做法是用于订阅或取消订阅确认、欢迎信和客服问题。

黑名单

由 ISP 业者、公司、电子邮件服务供应商或用户认定为未许可的寄件人的 IP 地址列表。被列入黑名单的 IP 地址通常是发送非法的商业电子邮件或发送病毒邮件的垃圾邮件寄件者。垃圾邮件过滤器会透过黑名单阻止特定的 IP 地址。

封锁

电子邮件被收件匣拒收,通常是由于用户或 ISP 业者设定了垃圾邮件过滤才会发生。

退件

电子邮件被退回它发送的服务器。退件通常分为「硬退件」,表示由于信箱地址不存在或被收件方封锁造成的永久性投送失败问题,退件也分为「软退件」,表示由于信箱已满或服务器不可用造成的暂时性问题。

行为召唤(CTA)

行为召唤简称为 CTA,在图像或文字中加入的鼓励潜在客户采取特定行动的词语。 例如,「点击浏览此处产品」或「将此产品添加到愿望清单」。

电子邮件

在整体目标的前提下,每隔一段时间发送一系列电子邮件。

2003 反垃圾邮件法

2003 年通过的联邦反垃圾邮件法,规定每封电子邮件中包含以下内容:合法页首,有效的寄件人地址,简单明了的主旨栏,取消订阅和/或说明,以及实际地址。 还要求在收到请求的十天内处理所有取消订阅的内容。 该法已得到执行,第一个被判有罪的垃圾邮件发送者是来自加州玛丽安德尔湾(Marina Del Re)的一名驾驶员。 2007年七月,他被判处三年缓刑和六个月在家拘留,并罚款一万美元。

点击率

点击率统计的是潜在客户点击链接的比率,计算的方式点击数除以邮件开启总数(再乘以 100,以百分比表示)。

确认订阅

确认订阅(也称为双重订阅)是指订阅用户加入邮件名单的两道验证程序。订阅用户必须先注册,并回复确认信才能使收到后续邮件。

内容

网页、电子邮件或任何作品内容。内容最重要的邮件营销元素,透过文案、图片以及视频等传达您的资讯。

转换率

转换率是指收件人对您的营销或促销邮件中的行为召唤按钮作出的回应人数或百分比。这用于衡量电子邮件绩效。您也可以计算销售、电话以及预约等的转换率。

双重订阅

这是获取订阅用户允许的较佳方法。潜在客户透过表格、勾选方格、订阅表格等方式注册订阅。第二步是收件人确认验证信后,才能收到后续的邮件。这是建立邮件名单的安全方式,也是建立订阅用户与电子邮件信任的方法。请参考确认订阅。

封锁电子邮件

封锁电子邮件通常是指邮件被网络服务供应商(ISP) 业者封锁。被封锁的邮件无法透过 ISP,所以无法投递到指定的信箱。ISP 业者会主动阻止来自垃圾邮件寄件人的垃圾邮件。

邮件到达率

邮件到达率指的是邮件直接进入到收件人信箱的比例。由于邮件营销服务商(ESP)会监测可疑的垃圾邮件以及广告信件,所以邮件到达率成为了所有营销人员的主要关注点。

反馈循环

收件人的网络服务供应商(ISP)将收件人要求移除的垃圾邮件投诉转寄给寄件人的过程。通常会被寄件人当成取消订阅要求。请参考垃圾邮件投诉。

硬退件/软退件

无法投递的邮件称为退件。「硬退件」表示由于信箱地址不存在或被收件方封锁造成的永久性投送失败问题,「软退件」表示由于信箱已满或服务器不可用造成的暂时性问题。

显示在邮件的最上方,告知收件人邮件的来源。大部分标头会邮件的来源和去向,表示显示收件人和寄件人,还有邮件主旨,表示发送邮件的目的。收件人通常依据标头是否开启邮件、将他们加入垃圾箱或标记为垃圾邮件。设计具有吸引力的标头,可以准确传达邮件内容,也是取得收件人信任的方法。

自有名单

自行建立的许可式名单,用于营销、交叉销售以及追加销售,逐渐与客户建立关系,也是您在最重要的资产之一。

HTML(超文本标记语言)

HTML 的全称是 HyperText Markup Language(超文本标记语言)。通常用于制作大部分网页的语言,将代码形式转换为您所看到的图片。它具有多种用途,可以嵌入视频、图片、指令码和架构网页内容。要在电子邮件内或网页内编辑文本内容,设计师会使用 HTML 元素「标签」。这些标签放在方括号中。例如: <h1> 是指放大字体的页首u标签。在页首标签之后放上一个像

</h1> 这样含有正斜线的页尾标签。

登陆页

登陆页有多重定义,但只有一个基本的目的:它是潜在客户点击链接后看到的第一个页面。通常是访客在浏览您网站时所见到的第一个页面:点击搜索引擎搜寻结果或广告页面后进入的第一个页面。

邮件名单

发送电子邮件的名单,含有电子信箱(含有或不含有订阅用户名字等额外信息)。

开启

在预览窗口中浏览过 HTML 电子邮件,或在邮件客户端中完全开启电子邮件时,只要显示图片,会视为「已开启」邮件。追踪开启通常透过在 HTML 中插入一个微小、清晰图片实现。当邮件开启和显示小图片时,小图片会调用服务器,然后统计该邮件为开启。无法透过文字追踪开启,由于它们不能包含图片。

开启率

电子邮件开启总数除以传送总数(再乘以 100,以百分比表示)

自愿订阅(或订阅)

自愿订阅又称「订阅」,订阅用户主动且明确愿意接收透过电子邮件或其他方式接收电子邮件所采取的行动。

选择退出(或取消订阅)

选择退出又称「取消订阅」,订阅用户不愿意收到电子邮件所采取的行动,且能够透过线上渠道,要求从邮件名单中移除。根据反垃圾邮件法规定(CAN-SPAM Act),发件方必须要在十天内处理订阅用户的要求。

许可式邮件

发送邮件确认订阅特定公司、网站或个人电子邮件的收件人。取得收件人许可是合法经营邮件营销的前提条件。

个性化

撰写一封让收件人感到是专门写给他们的个性化邮件,在问候语或主旨栏加入收件人的名字、提及先前的购买记录,或者根据先前的购买模式提出下次购买建议。

钓鱼邮件

通过电子邮件或虚假链接获取用户名、密码、信用卡等个人信息的犯罪欺诈行为。经常发生在声称是可信且合法的虚假网站,这是惯用的身份盗窃方法。

隐私

未经许可非法入侵的性质或状态。需要通过清晰、明确的保证来消除潜在客户的疑虑,才能放心地提供个人资料和进行交易。

租赁名单(或购买名单)

也被称为「购买名单」。名单里面有选择接收特定主题资讯的潜在客户或目标群体。利用许可式租赁名单,营销人员可以根据兴趣类别、职业、人口统计资讯等发送电子邮件。

信誉

社区或公众对寄件者为发送「好」或「坏」电子邮件的评定。影响寄件者的评等的因素有好多,但垃圾邮件投诉应是考虑的主要指标。

再分类名单

根据兴趣类别、购买行为、人口统计等因素划分邮件名单,以便针对最有可能回响应您的资讯或报价的名单发送特定的电子邮件。您的再分类名单和目标客户提高邮件开启率和点击率。

寄件人

负责发送电子邮件的个人或组织,通常是指电子邮件中的「寄件人」栏位。

垃圾邮件

不受欢迎的电子邮件通常未经收件人允许而发出的邮件。

垃圾邮件投诉

收件人确认该邮件为垃圾邮件而提出的投诉。

电子邮件欺骗

电子邮件欺骗是指垃圾邮件寄件者欺骗收件人开启并回复未经许可的电子邮件的做法。寄件者更改了寄件人地址,以欺骗收件人将个人资讯提供给可信的来源。这种欺骗带来的损害是双重的,它不仅盗用暴露了用户的身份,还损害了伪造诈骗寄件地址的信誉。欺骗经常与钓鱼诈骗邮件经常一起出现。

主旨栏

电子邮件的标题。这是收件人开启电子邮件时会第一眼看到标题。邮件主旨必须具有吸引力,且让收件人可信,否则收件人不会开启邮件。

订阅

订阅代表进行注册:允许某人向您发送电子邮件或其他电子资讯。

锁定目标

选择具有相似人口统计数据的部分邮件名单,并发送与他们相关的资讯。

追踪

收集和分析数据(或指标),评估电子邮件的绩效。

垃圾电子邮件(UCE)

垃圾电子邮件(也称为垃圾邮件)。未经收件人明确许可而发送的广告邮件。

不重复点击

来自同一用户的点击。「不重复点击」统计的是单个用户点击该 URL 的总次数。同一个用户的重复点击不会影响总的统计数。

统一资源定位符 (URL )

简而言之,这是万维网上的网页地址,也被称为统一资源定位符。 更具体地说,这是文件或资源在网络中全球地址。 它由两个元素组成即是由冒号和两个正斜杠分隔。 地址的第一部分称为协议标识符,如下面所述。 第二部分是资源名称:资源所在的 IP 地址或域名(例如:www.benchmarkemail.com)。传输协议标识符决定要传送协议。 例如,传输协议标识符可以是 HTTP 或 FTP。 HTTP(超文本传输协议)定义了网络服务器和浏览器如何响应命令。 在浏览器中输入 URL 时,HTTP 会指示网络服务器找到所请求的网页。 FTP 代表文件传输协议。

取消订阅

取消发送电子邮件服务。在 Benchmark 中,取消订阅者是要求从您的邮件名单中删除的人。

语态

动词的一种语法,表明主语和动词之间的关系。「鸟筑巢」是用主动语态写的,强调的是:鸟。「鸟巢是由鸟建造的」是用被动语态写的,强调的是建造鸟巢的动作。主动语态在推动行动时更具说服力。

白名单

通过垃圾邮件过滤器的名单或 IP 地址。在这种情况下,发件人不是垃圾邮件寄件者,他们的电子邮件主旨或内容是经过允许的,黑名单的反义词。

WIIFM 或「对我有什么帮助?」

每个邮件收件人在决定开启、阅读并对邮件采取行动前(例如,点击链接、打电话预约、访问办公室或零售场所)时,首要想到的问题。

Skip to content

Email Marketing Glossary

50+ must-know terms to help you master email marketing

A

Above the Fold

The part of an email or web page that is visible without scrolling. It is generally more desirable placement because of its visibility.

Another word for permission. The recipient of your email has been clearly and fully notified of the collection and use of his email address and has consented prior to such collection and use. Affirmative consent is not only a best practice; it is required by all reputable email marketing services.

API

Also known as Application Programming Interface, an API is a programming tool to enable separate software programs to communicate with each other or work harmoniously within an operating system. Good examples are Java and Microsoft DirectX, a bundle of APIs that enable game programming and video on PCs.

Auto Responder

A program or a script that automatically sends a response when someone sends a message to its address. The most common uses of auto responders are for subscribe and unsubscribe confirmations, welcome emails and customer-support questions.

B

Blacklists

Lists of IP addresses designated as unauthorized senders by an Internet Service Provider, corporation, email server or user. Blacklisted IPs are usually spammers who send unsolicited commercial email or who are known to carry malware. Blacklists are either used or compiled by spam filters to block specific IP addresses.

Blocking

Blocking occurs when an email is rejected from an inbox, often as a result of filters put in place by a user or Internet Service Provider.

Bounced Email

An email that is returned to the server that sent it. A bounced email is usually classified as either a “hard bounce,” which indicates a permanent failure due to a non-existent address or a blocking condition by the receiver, or a “soft bounce,” indicating that there is a temporary failure due to a full mailbox or an unavailable server.

C

Calls to Action

Often referred to as a CTA, this term refers to words included in images or text that encourage a prospect to take a specific action. For example, “Click here to see a product tour” or “Add this product to your wish list.”

Campaign

A coordinated set of individual email marketing messages delivered at intervals and with an overall objective in mind.

CAN-SPAM

Federal anti-spam legislation passed in 2003 that requires the following in each email: a legitimate header, a valid “From” address, a straightforward “Subject” line, an unsubscribe/opt-out link and/or instructions and a physical address. It also requires that all unsubscribes are processed within ten days of receipt. The Act is enforced and the first spammer convicted was a wardriver from Marina Del Rey, California. In July 2007, he was sentenced to three years of probation, six months of home detention and issued a $10,000 fine.

Click-Through

When a prospect takes an action and clicks on a link. To determine the click-through rate, divide the number of responses by the number of emails opened (multiply this by 100 to express the result as a percentage).

Confirmed Opt-In

A Confirmed Opt-In (also referred to as Double Opt-In) is a two-step process that allows a user to join your mailing list. The user must initially sign up, and then respond to a follow-up email prior to receiving any further email.

Content

The substance of a web page, email, newsletter or any created work. Content communicates your message with copy, images, video, etc. It is your most important marketing element.

Conversion Rate

The number or percentage of recipients who respond to your call-to-action in a given email marketing campaign or promotion. This is the measure of your email campaign’s success. You may measure conversion in sales, phone calls, appointments, etc.

D

Double Opt-In

This is the preferred method of obtaining permission from your subscribers. The prospect signs up for email contact via a form, check box, sign up box, etc. The second step comes when the recipient responds to a verification email affirming that they wish to receive future emails. This is a safe way to build email lists and build subscribers’ trust in your campaign. See Confirmed Opt-In.

E

Email Blocking

Email blocking typically refers to blocking by ISPs. Emails that are blocked are not processed through the ISP and are prevented from reaching their addressed destination. ISPs actively block email coming from suspected spammers.

Email Deliverability

Email deliverability refers to the ability to deliver emails directly to a subscriber's inbox. As ESPs crack down on suspected spammers and unwanted emails, email deliverability is a major focus for all marketers.

F

Feedback Loop

The process by which the email client (ISP) of the receiver forwards complaints of emails marked as spam by recipients for removal by the sender. Usually treated by senders as an unsubscribe request. See Spam Complaint.

H

Hard / Soft Bounce

Emails that are undeliverable are called bounces. A “hard bounce” indicates a permanent failure due to a non-existent address or a blocking condition by the receiver. A “soft bounce” indicates that there is a temporary failure due to a full mailbox or an unavailable server.

Visible at the top of an email, it tells the recipient where the email has come from. Most headers will show the To and From lines, which identify the sender and recipient, and the subject line, which is meant to state the email’s purpose. Recipients often make the decision to open, trash or flag the message as spam depending on these attributes. An appealing header that accurately prepares the recipient for what the email contains is the surest way to gain a user’s trust.

House List

A permission-based list that you built yourself. Use it to market, cross sell and up-sell, and to establish a relationship with customers over time. Your house list is one of your most valuable assets.

HTML

HTML stands for HyperText Markup Language. Used by most web pages, it is the programming that translates coded formats into the images that you see. It serves numerous purposes, embedding videos and images and scripts and structuring a page’s content. To encode text inside emails or web pages, designers use HTML elements called tags. These tags are enclosed inside brackets. For instance,

<h1>is the start tag for a large header font. At the end of the header is placed an end tag, which includes a forward slash</h1>.

L

Landing Page

This term has many definitions but one essential purpose: it is the first page that appears when a prospect clicks on a link. Often it is the first page a visitor to your site will see: where they will “land” after clicking a search engine result or advertisement.

M

Mailing List

A group of email addresses (with or without additional information such as the subscribers’ names) to which specific mailings are sent.

O

Open

“Opened” messages include HTML emails that have been viewed in a preview pane or fully opened in the email client, as long as images have been enabled. Opens are generally tracked by inserting a small clear image in an HTML message. When a message is opened and images are enabled, the image calls the server and the message is then counted as an open. Text messages cannot be tracked as opened because they cannot include images.

Open Rate

The total number of emails opened divided by the total number of emails delivered (multiply this number by 100 to express the result as a percentage).

Opt In

Also known as "subscribe." The action a person takes when he or she actively and explicitly requests, by email or other means, to receive email communications.

Opt Out

Also known as "unsubscribe." The action a person takes when he or she chooses not to receive email communications. It requires a web-based mechanism by which people can ask to be removed reliably from an email list. This request must be honored within ten days, as mandated by the CAN-SPAM Act.

P

Permission-Based Email

Email sent to recipients who have opted-in or subscribed to receive email communications from a particular company, website or individual. Permission is an absolute prerequisite for legitimate and profitable email marketing.

Personalization

The practice of writing an email to make the recipient feel that it is more personal and was sent with him or her in mind. This might include using the recipient’s name in the salutation or subject line, referring to previous purchases or correspondence or offering recommendations based on previous buying patterns.

Phishing

Criminal fraud by attempting to acquire personal information such as usernames, passwords, credit cards, etc. via email or bogus links. Often this takes place on false sites claiming to be legitimate versions of trusted ones. A prevailing method of identity theft.

Privacy

The quality or condition of being free from unsanctioned intrusion. Communications need to reassure the prospect through clear, accessible and enforced assurances so he or she can feel comfortable about providing personal information and transacting business.

R

Recipient

The end user who requested the email from the sender, usually identified by the email address in the ‘To’ line.

Rental List

Also referred to as an "acquisition list." A list of prospects or a targeted group of recipients who have opted-in to receive information about certain subjects. Using permission-based rental lists, marketers can send email messages to audiences targeted by interest category, profession, demographic information and more.

Reputation

The estimation to which a sender is held by the community or the public as sending “good” or “bad” email. Many factors are used to determine a sender’s reputation, though spam complaints are the main metric considered.

S

Segmentation

Dividing your email list based on interest categories, purchasing behavior, demographics and more for the purpose of targeting specific email campaigns to the audiences most likely to respond to your message or offer. Your list segmentation and targeting efforts pay off with higher open and click-through rates.

Sender

The person or organization responsible for transmitting the email, usually identified by the email address in the ‘From’ line.

Spam

Unwanted email usually sent without the recipient’s permission.

Spam Complaint

The receipt of a complaint from a recipient who has identified the message as spam.

Spoofing

A technique used by spammers to dupe recipients into opening and replying to unauthorized emails. The sender alters the From address to trick a recipient into giving personal information to a trusted source. The mayhem is two fold in that it exposes the user to identity theft and damages the reputation of the address the spoofer is counterfeiting. Spoofing often goes hand in hand with phishing scams.

Subject Line

The title of an email. This is the first (and hopefully not last) element of the communication recipients will see when they access their email. It has to grab attention and be credible or the email will not be opened.

Subscribe

Subscribe means to sign up - to give permission to someone to send you newsletters, email or other electronic information.

T

Targeting

Selecting a portion of the mailing list with similar demographic values to send messages relevant to those demographics.

Tracking

Collecting and evaluating the statistics (or metrics) that measure the effectiveness of an email or an email campaign.

U

UCE

Unsolicited Commercial Email (also referred to as spam). Commercial email sent without the recipient’s express permission.

Unique Click

A click from a single user. When unique clicks are measured, it is an aggregate number of how many times that URL was clicked by individual users. Duplicate clicks by a single user do not affect the total.

URL

Simply put, this is the address of a web page on the world wide web. It is also known as the Uniform Resource Locator. More specifically, this is a global address of documents or resources on the internet. It is made up of two elements separated by a colon and two forward slashes. The first part of an address is called the protocol identifier, described below. The second part is the resource name: the IP address or domain name where the resource is located (e.g., www.benchmarkemail.com). The protocol identifier determines what protocol to use. For example, a protocol identifier may be in HTTP or FTP. HTTP (HyperText Transfer Protocol) defines how web servers and browsers respond to commands. When you enter a URL in your browser, the HTTP directs the web server to pull up the requested web page. FTP stands for File Transfer Protocol.

Unsubscribe

To cancel a service such as the delivery of an email newsletter or mailing list. In Benchmark, an unsubscriber is a person who has asked to be taken off your mailing list.

V

Voice

A grammatical property of verbs that indicates a relationship between the subject and the action expressed by the verb. “Birds build nests” is written in the active voice and emphasizes the subject: birds. “Nests are built by birds” is written in the passive voice and emphasizes the action - building nests. Active voice is far more persuasive in driving action.

W

Whitelists

Lists of contacts or IP addresses authorized to pass through a spam filter by the user. The senders in this case are not spammers and their email is pre-approved regardless of subject lines or content. The opposite of a blacklist.

WIIFM

The question at the forefront of every email recipient's mind when making a decision to open, read and then take action on your email (e.g., click a link, call for an appointment, visit an office or retail location).