×

Ressources utilisateur

Nous contacter

  • Chat en live
  • Contactez-nous par email
  • INTL 001.562.252.3789
    USA +1.800.430.4095
    FRANCE (+33) 01 86 26 09 53

Formatage des emails en HTML: problèmes et solutions

Votre newsletter doit être un équilibre parfait entre du texte, des espaces vides, des images et des liens. Cependant, vous seriez surpris de voir combien les marketeurs ont du mal à résoudre cette équation.

Des emails surchargés d’images, nous en avons vu de toutes sortes à Benchmark.

Mais, cet article est destiné à vous aider et vous orienter vers les bonnes pratiques. Nous avons donc lister les erreurs de formatage les plus communes et nous y avons juxtaposé la solution.

Faites-vous les choses correctement? Une chose est sûre, après avoir lu cet article, vous deviendrez un vrai expert.


Erreur #1: Utiliser trop d’images/graphiques et pas assez de texte


Vous avez déjà probablement reçu plein d’email -principalement des spams- remplis d’images (ou juste une grande) mais dépourvu de texte. Certes ces emails peuvent être visuellement attrayant mais rappelez vous que les messageries bloquent les emails dont le texte est connoté “spam” mais également ceux qui ont un rapport image/texte disproportionné.
Comment faire pour y remédier? la réponse est ici:

Rétrécissez vos images de sorte qu’elles n’envahissent pas votre texte.
Vous avez besoin d’équilibre dans vos newsletters. Les petites images vous sont donc d’un grand secours.

Utilisez des images miniatures si vous en avez besoin.
Lorsque le client clique sur ces miniatures, il est redirigé vers la version web de votre newsletter. Cela vous aidera considérablement à amener vos clients à voir vos emails dans leur intégralité, images comprises.

Fixez des limites.
Si vous avez seulement besoin d’un paragraphe de texte et une ou deux images, forcez vous à ne choisir que les meilleures et c’est tout. Rappelez vous: vous pourrez utiliser les autres images dans une campagne future.

N’envoyez un email qui ne contient qu’une image ou graphique.
Vous avez besoin de texte. Les messageries analysent les mots clés des emails pour savoir si elles les distribuent dans la boite de réception ou dans les indésirables.


Erreur #2: Négliger les volets de visualisation.
 

Au début de l’ère email, ce n’était pas bien grave d’envoyer une newsletter à rallonge, car on avait toutes les chances que les destinataires la reçoivent quand même. Plus maintenant. Les volets de visualisation ayant la main mise sur la plupart des messageries (dont Outlook et Windows Mail), il y a de fortes chances que vos destinataires ne voient qu’une petite partie de vos emails.

Ainsi, vous avez une fenêtre de tir assez restreinte pour pour inciter vos abonnés à consulter vos campagnes dans leur intégralité. Voici quelques conseils pour tirer le meilleur parti des volets de visualisation:

Mettez en avant les choses les plus importantes. Placez au début vos call to action ou produits phares au début de votre email, c’est ce que le client verra en premier. Intriguez les.

Placez votre logo intelligement. Si vous le placez sur le côté gauche, il n’interferera pas avec votre message.

Vous pensiez élargir votre email? ne le faites pas. La plupart des volets de visualisation ont des restrictions concernant la largeur des emails. Faites simple, et ne dépassez pas les 575 ou 600 pixels.

Considérez en premier lieu un lien hypertexte. Utilisez un lien au tout début de votre email. Si le texte du lien est assez explicite, les clients cliqueront et iront directement sur la version web de votre email.

Erreur #3: Utiliser des liens qui ne fonctionnent pas, des images qui ne se téléchargent ou autre déconvenue de ce genre

Il est primordial qu’un professionnel qui envoie des emails marketing s’assure que son fichier fonctionne à 100%. Cela ne signifie pas seulement vérifier la mise en page, mais également contrôler chaque lien et image.

Voici quelques conseils:

N’utilisez pas d’adresse URL dans vos campagnes email,
c’est à dire l’adresse web de votre site. Pour réduire les risques d’être bloqué par les messageries, utilisez des liens hypertextes plutôt qu’une adresse URL.

Voici la bonne solution: Rendez-vous sur Benchmark Email

Et voici celle à éviter: Rendez vous sur https://www.benchmarkemail.com/fr

Utilisez du texte qui se suffit à lui même.
Même si vous avez fait tout votre possible pour que vos images apparaissent correctement, nous vous conseillons de rédiger un texte assez explicite pour pouvoir se passer des images. Les serveurs, PDA, smartphones et messageries peuvent toujours rencontrer un problème bloquant le téléchargement des images. Ainsi, votre email sera quand même compréhensible et pertinent, même si aucune image n’apparaît.

Erreur #4 : Utiliser un code élaboré ou des pièces jointes

Suite à la guerre pour capter l’attention que se livre les emails marketing, certains professionnels (dont vous faites peut être partie) utilisent des codes hors normes afin de créer des emails toujours plus éblouissants. Bien que nous encourageons cet enthousiasme, nous savons qu’il n’aura pas le même effet sur les messageries.

Laissez tomber les codages hors normes. Même si nous admettons que vous pouvez élaborer un email beaucoup plus abouti avec ActiveX qu’avec le simple HTML. Même chose pour Javascript. Cependant, il faut prendre en compte un gros bémol quant à l’utilisation de ces codages plus sexy : les virus. En effet, les spammeurs sont connus pour envoyer quelques désagréments (virus, cheval de Troie)  via Active X. Dès lors, beaucoup de messageries bloquent Active X. En utilisant ce code, vous avez tous les risques que votre email n’arrive ni dans la boite de réception, ni même dans les indésirables. Optez donc pour le code HTML.

N’envoyer pas de pièces jointes. Les pièces jointes sont comme une alerte rouge pour les filtres à spam. Envoyez un email commercial avec une pièce jointe, c’est courir le risque de faire bloquer votre campagne. Pour cette raison, nous vous recommandons donc de laisser tomber toute sorte de pièce jointe. Si vous avez besoin de développer vos idées et que vous manquez de place, insérez des liens redirigeants vers des pages dédiées de votre site.

Erreur #5 : ne pas tester votre email auprès de plusieurs messageries

On oublie vite que chaque messagerie utilise un code différent pour afficher les emails. Ainsi, un email reçu sur une boite AOL pourra être différent d’un email reçu sur une boite Yahoo ! ou Gmail. Il existe cependant quelques astuces permettant d’éradiquer ce problème.

Soyez rigoureux : Testez systématiquement vos emails. Envoyez cinq ou six emails tests sur les messageries les plus utilisées (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, AOL…) et vérifiez chaque lien et image de l’email. Quand plusieurs messageries bloquent une image, envoyez un email test et ouvrez les images sur les différentes messageries pour voir lesquelles les acceptent ou non.

Eliminer les principaux problèmes. Il faut voir la vérité en face, vous n’arriverez jamais à produire un email qui s’affichera parfaitement sur toutes les messageries. A cause des règles de codage différentes, votre newsletter apparaitra certainement différement sur AOL, Gmail ou Yahoo. Si cela ne pose aucun problème pour certaines choses, vous devez vous concentrer sur les plus préoccupantes. Comme par exemple une image qui s’affiche sur certaines messageries mais pas d’autres, le fait que certaines messageries orientent vos emails vers les indésirables mais d’autres non… Tous ces tests vous permettront d’identifiez et de solutionnez ces problèmes avant que votre campagne soit lancée.

Voici les quelques conseils que nous vous conseillons vivement de suivre si vous souhaitez améliorer la distribution de vos emails. Si vous êtes débutant, ces astuces ne vous évoquent peut être pas grand chose mais elles deviendront vite une seconde nature si vous consultez cet article régulièrement. 

Articles liés


Back

HTML Email Formatting: Mistakes and Fixes

Your email or newsletter must be the perfect balance of text, white space, images and links. However, you might be surprised how many email marketers get this delicate equation all wrong.

Emails with too many images. We've seen it all at Benchmark.

However, this article is meant to help you get it right. What we've done in this space is list out the most common HTML formatting errors and mistakes – and how to correct them. So keep reading if you still have questions on whether or not you're doing things right. Most likely, you probably do.

Mistake #1: Using too many images/graphics and not enough text

You've probably gotten plenty of emails – mainly from spammers – full of images (or even just one big image) but slim on the text side. While these emails may be pretty to look at, remember that just as email clients weed out spammy text emails, they also block image-heavy / light on text ones.
So, what can you do about this? Keep reading:

Shrink, shrink, shrink those images down so they don't overwhelm the text. You need balance in your email or newsletters. Smaller images can help you achieve this.
Use thumbnail images if you need to. When someone clicks on these thumbnails, link them back to the Web version of your html email or newsletter. This will help you tremendously as the people sent to the Web version of your email or newsletter will see your email in its entirety, images included.
Use restraint. If you only have a paragraph of text and need to use one or two images, force yourself to pick the best one and stick with it. Remember: you can probably use the other images in a later campaign.
Don't send an email that is one big graphic or image file. You need text. Email clients look for text keywords in emails and newsletters to decide whether or not to let these campaigns through to the inbox. A 100% graphics file won't make it through.
Mistake #2: Forgetting the preview pane

In the old days of email, it wasn't a big deal to send out a long-ish newsletter because chances were, the recipient could see the whole version of it in their inbox. Not anymore. With preview panes dominating so many email clients (Outlook and Windows Mail being just two), it's entirely likely that most of your customers will see a small sliver of just a few inches.

Thanks to this, you only have a few inches to woo your recipient into opening up your email campaign and viewing it in its entirety. Here are some tips on using the preview pane to your advantage:

Put your most important stuff on top. If you put your call to action or your most important sales pitch on top of your email, that's what your preview pane-using clients will see. Intrigue them.
Place your logo accordingly. If you put it on the left side, for instance, not only will it be seen, it won't interfere with your sales pitch / message.
Thinking of going wide? Don't. Most preview panes have restrictions on how much of your email will be shown, width-wise. Keep it simple by going no wider than 575 or 600 pixels.
Consider a text link above all else. Use a text link at the very top of your email – even above your graphics. If the text of this link is compelling enough, your customers will click on it and visit the Web-based version of your email.
Mistake #3: Using dead links, images that don't work and more

The old saying about the word "assume" is entirely appropriate here, as legions of email marketers assume that their images and links work before they send out emails. It's not enough to send a test email to check your layout. You have to make absolutely certain each link works and each image shows up correctly.

Here are some tips:

Don't use text URLs in your email campaigns A text URL is one that shows an entire Web address. For instance: www.benchmarkemail.com . To cut back on your chances of getting blocked by email clients, use a hyperlink and regular text rather than a full text URL.

Here's the right way: Visit Benchmark Email
Here's the wrong way: Visit http://www.benchmarkemail.com/
Use text that stands on its own If you've done all you can to make certain your images work, you should still create text that stands on its own without those images. Servers, PDAs, cell phones and email clients sometimes have technical problems and fail to show images. Thanks to this, your email copy should stand on its own if no images are shown.
Mistake #4: Using elaborate code and/or attachments

Thanks to so many emails competing for attention, many email marketers – maybe yourself included – have used types of code outside the norm to make emails more dazzling. Although we applaud that enthusiasm, we know those emails will probably not make it to the inbox:

Ditch the outside-the-norm coding. Even we can admit that you can do a heck of a lot more with an email by using Active X than you can with basic, boring HTML. The same goes for Javascript. However, there are a few huge drawbacks to using these sexier types of code: viruses. Spammers are notorious for sending all sorts of nasty things (viruses, trojans) via Active X. Thanks to this, the vast majority of email clients block Active X out of the gate. If you use this code, your email will never even make it to the inbox, or even the trash. So stick to HTML as design code.
Don't send attachments. Attachments are like a red flag for spam filters. Send a commercial email with an attachment and you're just begging for your email campaigns to get blocked. For this reason, we recommend ditching any and all attachments. If you need to expand on your topic and are desperate for more space, just link back to a landing page on your site where you feature more info.
Mistake #5: Not testing your email out with a variety of popular email services

It's easy to forget that email clients use different coding to display your emails. This means that an email in AOL may look differently than an email in yahoo or Gmail. Here are a few ways to tackle this issue:

Be obsessive about sending test emails. We can't express enough how important it is to send test emails before your campaign goes out. Send out five or six test emails to the top free email services (yahoo, Gmail, AOL, Hotmail, etc.) and click on every link and image in those emails when they arrive. Since most services will disable images, send a test email and turn on images with each client and see how many show up correctly.
Tackle the big problems. Let's face it – you'll never get your email to display perfectly across all email clients. Thanks to coding issues, your email or newsletter will probably look slightly different in AOL than it will in yahoo or Gmail. However, while certain things can be overlooked, you must concentrate on the things that cannot. These may include images that show up in some email clients but not others, whether or not your email gets dumped in the spam bin by some clients but not others, and other big issues. Tackle the big things before your email comes out. Testing will help you flush these big issues out into the open.

Sidestepping the HTML formatting issues listed above is one the most important things you can do, as an email marketer, to improve deliverability. While some of these tips might seem foreign – especially if you're a beginner – check this list often and before you know it, these tips will be like second nature.

Related Articles


Back